spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rocket Lab launches DARPA satellite
Posted: Sat, Mar 30 10:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)
Rocket Lab launched an experimental DARPA satellite Thursday evening. The company's Electron rocket lifted off from its New Zealand spaceport at 7:27 pm...

India tests anti-satellite weapon
Posted: Sat, Mar 30 10:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)
India announced Wednesday that it successfully tested an anti-satellite weapon, destroying one of its own satellites. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, in a televised speech,...

Vice President Pence calls for human landing on the Moon by 2024
Posted: Sat, Mar 30 9:56 AM ET (1356 GMT)
Vice President Mike Pence directed NASA Tuesday to return humans to the surface of the Moon within five years. Pence, speaking at a National Space...

Commercial Chinese launch fails
Posted: Sat, Mar 30 9:51 AM ET (1351 GMT)
The first orbital launch by Chinese company OneSpace has been confirmed to be a failure. The launch of the OS-M1 rocket from the Jiuquan...

NASA to perform new JWST cost estimate
Posted: Sat, Mar 30 9:47 AM ET (1347 GMT)
NASA will perform a new detailed cost and schedule estimate for the James Webb Space Telescope this year amid concerns the project is using up...

Scientists study how Kuiper Belt object visited by New Horizons formed
Posted: Sat, Mar 23 6:47 PM ET (2247 GMT)
The two lobes of the Kuiper Belt object visited by New Horizons may have gently come together. Scientists studying images and other data returned so...

NASA confirms cost overruns for Mars 2020 rover
Posted: Sat, Mar 23 6:39 PM ET (2239 GMT)
NASA confirmed Monday that the Mars 2020 rover mission is suffering cost overruns. The rover mission, just 16 months from launch, is experiencing problems with...

OneWeb raises $1.25 billion
Posted: Sat, Mar 23 6:34 PM ET (2234 GMT)
OneWeb announced Monday it has raised $1.25 billion in its latest funding round. The company said that SoftBank Group Corp., Grupo Salinas, Qualcomm Technologies...

Delta 4 launches WGS-10 communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 8:03 AM ET (1203 GMT)
A United Launch Alliance Delta 4 launched a military communications satellite Friday on the penultimate flight of the "single-stick" version of that rocket. The...

Soyuz sends crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Mar 17 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)
A Soyuz spacecraft delivered three people to the International Space Station Thursday. The Soyuz MS-12 spacecraft launched on schedule at 3:14 pm EDT (...



news in brief
Stratolaunch aircraft flies for the first time
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

Falcon Heavy launches Arabsat-6A
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 10:37 AM ET (1437 GMT)

Beresheet lander crashes on the Moon
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 10:35 AM ET (1435 GMT)

news links
Thursday, April 18
Trump Wants to Get Us Back to the Moon
National Review — 7:04 am ET (1104 GMT)
Israel’s Beresheet has Fallen, But Beresheet 2 Is Coming
The Daily Caller — 7:00 am ET (1100 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list