spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Rocket Lab launches DARPA satellite
Posted: Sat, Mar 30, 2019, 10:05 AM ET (1405 GMT)
Rocket Lab Electron launch of DARPA R3D2 (Rocket Lab) Rocket Lab launched an experimental DARPA satellite Thursday evening. The company's Electron rocket lifted off from its New Zealand spaceport at 7:27 pm EDT (2327 GMT), deploying the Radio Frequency Risk Reduction Deployment Demonstration (R3D2) satellite into low Earth orbit nearly an hour later. The 150-kilogram satellite is designed to test technologies for large deployable antennas that can be incorporated onto small satellites. The launch was the first this year for Rocket Lab, which says it plans to carry out launches on a monthly basis this year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
NASA releases ISS commercialization plans
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:47 AM ET (1347 GMT)

NASA to try new approach to fix InSight instrument
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:46 AM ET (1346 GMT)

Virgin Orbit planning spaceports in Britain and Japan
Posted: Sun, Jun 9 9:45 AM ET (1345 GMT)

news links
Saturday, June 15
County preps for SpaceX closures
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Arizona Challenger Space Center to get new life in 2020
Arizona Republic — 10:30 am ET (1430 GMT)
Mars can wait. First let’s terraform Earth.
Houston Chronicle — 10:24 am ET (1424 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list