spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon Heavy launches GOES-U weather satellite
Posted: Sun, Jun 30, 2024, 9:50 AM ET (1350 GMT)
A Falcon Heavy rocket successfully launched a NOAA weather satellite Tuesday. The Falcon Heavy lifted off from the Kennedy Space Center at 5:26 pm EDT (2126 GMT) and deployed the GOES-U satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit four and a half hour later, after three burns by the upper stage. GOES-U, which will be renamed GOES-19 after reaching GEO, is the fourth and final satellite in the GOES-R series of advanced geostationary orbit weather satellites. It will replace GOES-16 at the GOES-East location at 75 degrees west longitude in GEO. GOES-U carries the same instruments as the earlier GOES-R satellites as well as a new compact coronagraph instrument for monitoring the sun. The launch was the 10th for the Falcon Heavy and the second for NASA, which managed the development and launch of the satellite for NOAA.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
H3 launches Japanese Earth science satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:44 PM ET (2044 GMT)

Chinese rocket stage breaks loose in static-fire test
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:36 PM ET (2036 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Jul 7 4:33 PM ET (2033 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, July 23


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list