spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


North Korea launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 25, 2023, 8:30 AM ET (1330 GMT)
Chollima-1 North Korean launch, Nov 2023 (KCNA) North Korea appears to have successfully placed a reconnaissance satellite into orbit after two failed attempts earlier this year. A Chollima-1 rocket lifted off from the Tongchang-ri launch site at 8:42 am EST (1342 GMT) Tuesday and placed into orbit a reconnaissance satellite called Malligyong-1, according to North Korea's state-run news service. South Korean and U.S. officials later confirmed that the launch was successful, but had no information about the health of the satellite. North Korea attempted two launches in May and August, also carrying spysats, but both failed to reach orbit. South Korean officials believe this launch was successful because of technical assistance from Russia after North Korea agreed to sell it munitions. Japan, South Korea and the U.S. all condemned the launch for violating United Nations resolutions banning space launches by North Korea because they could be used to advance development of long-range missiles.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
IM-1 lands on the Moon but falls on its side
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:46 AM ET (1446 GMT)

Long March 5 launches classified satellite
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:40 AM ET (1440 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites from Vandenberg
Posted: Sun, Feb 25 9:36 AM ET (1436 GMT)

news links
Tuesday, February 27


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list