spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Upper stage of Angara rocket malfunctions
Posted: Thu, Dec 30, 2021, 2:27 PM ET (1927 GMT)
The upper stage of an Angara rocket launched Monday reportedly malfunctioned, stranding it in a low transfer orbit. The Angara-A5 rocket lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome at 2:00 pm EST (1900 GMT). The launch was a test flight, with the rocket's Persei upper stage performing a series of burns to place an inert payload into geostationary orbit. However, Russian sources said the second burn of the upper stage did not take place, keeping it in a transfer orbit likely to decay within days. Russian officials have not formally confirmed the problem, stating only that the initial phases of the launch were successful.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
LauncherOne launches seven cubesats
Posted: Sat, Jan 15 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)


Indian government selects new head of ISRO
Posted: Sat, Jan 15 10:43 AM ET (1543 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 17
Amid Blue Origin rumor, Unico says Longacres campus 'still available for lease'
Puget Sound Business Journal — 7:44 am ET (1244 GMT)
SpaceX firms up Falcon 9’s busy January launch plans
Teslarati — 7:40 am ET (1240 GMT)
Pacquiao wants a space rocket launchpad in PH
Rappler — 7:38 am ET (1238 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list