spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launches NASA DART planetary defense mission
Posted: Sat, Nov 27, 2021, 10:21 AM ET (1521 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of DART (SpaceX) NASA's first planetary defense mission is on its way to a near Earth asteroid after a launch early Wednesday. A SpaceX Falcon 9 lifted off at 1:21 am EST (0621 GMT) from Vandenberg Space Force Base in California and deployed NASA's Double Asteroid Redirection Test (DART) spacecraft about 55 minutes later. DART will travel to the near Earth asteroid Didymos and collide with its moon, Dimorphos, in 10 months to test the ability of such collisions to change the trajectory of asteroids.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
LauncherOne launches seven cubesats
Posted: Sat, Jan 15 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)


Indian government selects new head of ISRO
Posted: Sat, Jan 15 10:43 AM ET (1543 GMT)

news links
Monday, January 17
Amid Blue Origin rumor, Unico says Longacres campus 'still available for lease'
Puget Sound Business Journal — 7:44 am ET (1244 GMT)
SpaceX firms up Falcon 9’s busy January launch plans
Teslarati — 7:40 am ET (1240 GMT)
Pacquiao wants a space rocket launchpad in PH
Rappler — 7:38 am ET (1238 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list