spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Blue Origin launches first crewed New Shepard mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 24, 2021, 4:48 PM ET (2048 GMT)
New Shepard liftoff on first crewed flight (Blue Origin) Blue Origin successfully performed the first crewed launch of its New Shepard suborbital vehicle Tuesday with founder Jeff Bezos and three others on board. New Shepard lifted off from the company's West Texas site at 9:12 am EDT (1312 GMT), with the capsule reaching a peak altitude of about 107 kilometers before landing 10 minutes later. Bezos was joined on the flight by his brother Mark, Wally Funk and Oliver Daemen. Blue Origin executives said before the launch they were ready to start flying people after 15 uncrewed test flights, and saw no need to fly company employees as test astronauts first.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list