spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


OneWeb launches satellites to complete polar coverage
Posted: Sat, Jul 3, 2021, 10:59 AM ET (1459 GMT)
OneWeb successfully launched 36 satellites Thursday, allowing it to begin broadband services in northern latitudes later this year. The Soyuz -2 rocket lifted off from the Vostochny Cosmodrome at 8:48 am EDT (1248 GMT), deploying its payload of 36 satellites over the next four hours. Once the satellites reach their final orbits in about a month, OneWeb will have enough satellites to provide continuous service above 50 degrees north latitude. The company aims to launch four or five more batches of satellites in 2021 that will focus on filling out coverage of the Earth's southernmost regions, with 10 more launches needed to provide global services with the constellation by next year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin launches first crewed New Shepard mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:48 PM ET (2048 GMT)

China launches Yaogan-30 satellites
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:39 PM ET (2039 GMT)

Rocket Lab identifies cause of launch failure
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:37 PM ET (2037 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 30
We need a special relationship for space
The Daily Telegraph — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Boeing Space Flight Postponed After Mishap at Space Station
Wall Street Journal — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list