spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Virgin Orbit launches cubesats
Posted: Sat, Jul 3, 2021, 10:46 AM ET (1446 GMT)
Virgin Orbit launched seven cubesats on its second operational launch Wednesday. The company's LauncherOne rocket separated from its Boeing 747 aircraft at 10:47 am EDT (1447 GMT) off the Southern California coast. Deployment in low Earth orbit of the seven satellites, from the DoD's Space Test Program, Royal Netherlands Air Force and Polish company SatRevolution, took place about 40 minutes later. This was the second successful launch of the air-launch system, after a launch of cubesats sponsored by NASA in January. Virgin Orbit expects to perform one more launch this year, with six scheduled for next year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin launches first crewed New Shepard mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:48 PM ET (2048 GMT)

China launches Yaogan-30 satellites
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:39 PM ET (2039 GMT)

Rocket Lab identifies cause of launch failure
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:37 PM ET (2037 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 30
We need a special relationship for space
The Daily Telegraph — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Boeing Space Flight Postponed After Mishap at Space Station
Wall Street Journal — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list