spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX launches second set of Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 15, 2019, 5:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)
SpaceX successfully launched its second set of Starlink satellites Monday while setting new reusability milestones. The company's Falcon 9 rocket lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 9:56 am EST (1456 GMT) and deployed a set of 60 Starlink satellites into low Earth orbit about an hour later. The satellites join the first set of 60 launched in May, making the system already the largest telecommunications satellite constellation. The new satellites feature increased throughput and a new Ka-band antenna system. The launch was the first time a Falcon 9 first stage was flown four times, with that stage making a landing on a ship in the Atlantic. The launch was also the first time SpaceX reused a payload fairing.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starliner cleared for Dec. 20 test flight
Posted: Sun, Dec 15 7:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Rocket Lab opens US launch site
Posted: Sun, Dec 15 7:40 AM ET (1240 GMT)

Northrop Grumman signs up first customer for OmegA rocket
Posted: Sun, Dec 15 7:37 AM ET (1237 GMT)

news links
Monday, December 16
Astronaut lands on Mount Snow
Brattleboro (VT) Reformer — 5:19 am ET (1019 GMT)
Roscosmos to Begin Creating United State Space Program in 2020
Sputnik International — 5:14 am ET (1014 GMT)
US-India space cooperation: Moving away from the burden of the past
Observer Research Foundation — 5:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list