spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ATV leaves ISS for final time
Posted: Mon, Feb 16, 2015, 7:36 PM ET (0036 GMT)
ATV-5 approaching ISS (Roscosmos/ESA) A European cargo spacecraft undocked from the International Space Station for the final time Saturday and burned up in the atmosphere a day later. The Automated Transfer Vehicle 5 (ATV-5) spacecraft undocked from the station's Russian segment at 8:40 am EST (1340 GMT) Saturday and reentered a little more than 24 hours later, breaking up in the atmosphere shortly after 1 pm EST (1800 GMT) Sunday. ATV-5 was the final such cargo spacecraft the European Space Agency built to transport cargo to the ISS and also maintain the station's orbit; ESA elected to work with NASA on building the service module for the Orion spacecraft rather than build additional ATV vehicles.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 8
How Covid is strengthening our ties to outer space
Israel21c — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list