spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Fri, Dec 26, 2014, 11:30 AM ET (1630 GMT)
A Soyuz rocket launched what is widely believed to be a Russian military electronic intelligence satellite on Thursday. The Soyuz-2.1b rocket lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 10:01 am EST Wednesday (0301 GMT, 6:01 am Moscow time Thursday) and placed the satellite into orbit. Russian officials did not describe the satellite's mission, or even give its name, beyond it being a communications satellite. However, Western observers widely believe the satellite is a Lotos-S satellite designed to eavesdrop on communications.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 23
Opinion: The future of spaceflight is female
Houston Chronicle — 8:19 am ET (1319 GMT)
Here's What Biden Should Prioritize at NASA
Gizmodo — 8:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list