spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Ariane launches two Latin American communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Oct 18, 2014, 8:38 AM ET (1238 GMT)
Ariane 5 ECA launch of Intelsat 30 and Arsat-1 (Arianespace) An Ariane 5 successfully placed in orbit Thursday two communications satellites that will serve Latin America. The Ariane 5 ECA lifted off at 5:43 pm EDT (2143 GMT) and released the Intelsat 30 and Arsat-1 communications satellites into geosynchronous transfer orbits about a half-hour later. Intelsat 30, built by SSL for Intelsat, weighed 6,300 kilograms at launch. It carries C- and Ku-band transponders, the latter being used to provide programming by DIRECTV Latin America from 95 degrees west in GEO. Arsat-1, built by Argentine company Invap for Arsat S.A., weighed 2,985 kilograms at launch. Its Ku-band transponders will provide communications services for Argentina and neighboring countries from 71.8 degrees west in GEO. Arsat-1 is Argentina's first domestically-built communications satellite. The launch was the fifth Ariane 5 mission of 2014.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 8
How Covid is strengthening our ties to outer space
Israel21c — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list