spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Spacewalkers complete repairs outside ISS
Posted: Thu, Oct 16, 2014, 12:07 PM ET (1607 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2014 OCtober 15 (NASA) In the second spacewalk in as many weeks, astronauts on the International Space Station (ISS) replaced a component of the station's power system and started work to reconfigure the station for later commercial crew vehicles. NASA astronauts Reid Wiseman and Barry Wilmore spent 6 hours and 34 minutes outside the station on an EVA that started at 8:16 am EDT (1216 GMT). The two replaced a power regulator on the starboard truss that regulates power from one of the station's solar arrays. They also moved items on the port side of the truss to make room for the relocation of the station's Leonardo Permanent Multipurpose Module next year. That relocation is part of work to reconfigure the station to allow two commercial vehicles to be attached to the station simultaneously, required when commercial crew vehicles start flying to the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 8
How Covid is strengthening our ties to outer space
Israel21c — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list