spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches classified satellite
Posted: Wed, Sep 17, 2014, 9:41 PM ET (0141 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch CLIO (ULA) An Atlas 5 rocket placed a classified satellite into orbit late Tuesday. The Atlas 5 401 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 8:10 pm EDT (0010 GMT Wednesday), a launch pushed back to the end of its window because of weather conditions. United Launch Alliance announced mission success several hours later. The Atlas's payload was a satellite designated CLIO, which manufacturer Lockheed Martin described as based on a commercial A2100 bus. The agency that will operate CLIO, and the satellite's purpose, were not disclosed.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, June 29
Space Force Poised to Get a New Plans and Programs Chief
Air Force Magazine — 6:06 am ET (1006 GMT)
Rocket Lab launches Nasa satellite to the Moon
New Zealand Herald — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list