spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russian cosmonauts complete ISS spacewalk
Posted: Tue, Aug 19, 2014, 10:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)
ISS EVA on 2014 August 18 (NASA) Two Russian cosmonauts successfully carried out a five-hour spacewalk outside the International Space Station on Monday that included the deployment of a CubeSat. Alexander Skvortsov and Oleg Artemyev completed the 5-hour, 11-minute EVA at 3:13 pm EDT (1913 GMT), having performed all the tasks planned for the EVA. That work included the deployment by hand of Chasqui 1, a Peruivan CubeSat that was tossed away from the station by Artemyev. The two cosmonauts also installed an experiment package on the exterior of the Zvezda module, retrieved several other science packages, and installed hardware on the station's exterior.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC revokes Starlink subsidies
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

SpaceX hits 3,000 Starlink satellites launched
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:28 PM ET (1628 GMT)

China launches 16 remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:27 PM ET (1627 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 18
A private company wants to look for life just above Venus
Popular Science — 6:15 am ET (1015 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list