spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cygnus departs from ISS
Posted: Sat, Aug 16, 2014, 10:49 AM ET (1449 GMT)
Cygnus departs ISS on Orb-2 mission (NASA A Cygnus cargo spacecraft unberthed from the International Space Station Friday morning, ending a nearly month-long stay at the outpost. The station's Canadarm2 robotic arm unberthed the Cygnus spacecraft from the ISS and released it at 6:40 am EDT (1040 GMT), with the Cygnus soon departing from the station's vicinity. Cygnus, loaded with trash, will reenter the Earth's atmosphere and burn up at approximately 8:30 am EDT (1230 GMT) Sunday. The Cygnus, the second of eight missions to the ISS under Orbital Sciences Corporation's current contract with NASA, launched on an Antares rocket from Virginia on July 13, and berthed with the station on July 16. It brought about 1,500 kilograms of supplies and other cargo to the ISS.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
FCC revokes Starlink subsidies
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

SpaceX hits 3,000 Starlink satellites launched
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:28 PM ET (1628 GMT)

China launches 16 remote sensing satellites
Posted: Sun, Aug 14 12:27 PM ET (1627 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 18
A private company wants to look for life just above Venus
Popular Science — 6:15 am ET (1015 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list