spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


ATV docks with ISS
Posted: Wed, Aug 13, 2014, 9:02 AM ET (1302 GMT)
ATV-5 docking with ISS (NASA) The fifth and final European cargo spacecraft sent to the International Space Station docked with the ISS as planned on Tuesday. The Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV) 5, also named Georges Lemaitre, docked with the station's Zvezda module at 9:30 am EDT (1330 GMT) after a textbook approach to the station. ATV-5, launched on July 29 on an Ariane 5, is carrying 6,600 kilograms of cargo for the station. The spacecraft will remain docked to the ISS for several months, using its thrusters to help maintain the station's orbit. ATV-5 is the final cargo ship that Europe plans to send to the ISS, although Europe will use ATV technology to develop the service module for NASA's Orion spacecraft.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
North Korea launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 25 8:30 AM ET (1330 GMT)

Falcon 9 launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, Nov 25 8:25 AM ET (1325 GMT)

MDA wins contract for satellite constellation
Posted: Sat, Nov 25 8:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)

news links
Friday, December 1
Korea's first homegrown spy satellite to lift off on Friday
JoongAng Daily — 6:31 am ET (1131 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list