spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Sea Launch returns to flight with Eutelsat launch
Posted: Tue, May 27, 2014, 6:33 AM ET (1033 GMT)
Zenit-3SL launch of Eutelsat 3B (Sea Launch) Commercial launch company Sea Launch performed on Monday its first mission since a launch failure over a year ago, successfully placing a European communications satellite into orbit. The Zenit-3SL rocket lifted off from the company's floating launch platform on the Equator in the Pacific Ocean at 5:10 pm EDT (2110 GMT) and inserted its payload, the Eutelsat 3B satellite, into geostationary transfer orbit about one hour later. The satellite, a Eurostar E3000 model by Airbus Defence and Space, weighed nearly 6,000 kilograms at launch and will be used by Eutelsat to provide C-, Ka-, and Ku-band services from 3 degrees east in GEO. The launch was the first for Sea Launch since the loss of Intelsat 27 in a launch failure in early 2013.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 1
SpaceX's Starlink is active in Africa for the first time
Business Insider — 7:32 am ET (1232 GMT)
Bronco Space launches PROVES satellite into orbit
Cal Poly Ponoma Poly Post — 7:28 am ET (1228 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list