spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches military spacecraft
Posted: Sat, May 24, 2014, 12:40 PM ET (1640 GMT)
Rockot launch, May 2013 (Russian MoD) A Rockot vehicle placed three Russian military satellites into orbit on Friday. The Rockot lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 1:27 am EDT (0527 GMT, 9:27 am Moscow time) and placed the Cosmos 2496, 2497, and 2498 satellites into low Earth orbit an hour and 45 minutes later. The purpose of the satellites wasn't announced, but the three are thought to be new spacecraft for an existing military communications system. The launch was the first this year for the Rockot, a converted SS-18 ICBM.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, June 29
Space Force Poised to Get a New Plans and Programs Chief
Air Force Magazine — 6:06 am ET (1006 GMT)
Rocket Lab launches Nasa satellite to the Moon
New Zealand Herald — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list