spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches NRO payload
Posted: Fri, May 23, 2014, 10:04 AM ET (1404 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of NROL-33 (ULA) An Atlas 5 rocket successfully placed a classified satellite into orbit on Thursday, the second launch in less than a week by United Launch Alliance. The Atlas 5 401 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, on schedule at 9:09 am EDT (1309 GMT) on a mission for the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO) designated NROL-33. The purpose of the satellite was not disclosed by the NRO, although outside experts believe the payload is a communications relay satellite. The launch took place less than a week after a Delta 4 rocket launched a GPS navigation satellite, also from Cape Canaveral.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin launches first crewed New Shepard mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:48 PM ET (2048 GMT)

China launches Yaogan-30 satellites
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:39 PM ET (2039 GMT)

Rocket Lab identifies cause of launch failure
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:37 PM ET (2037 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 30
We need a special relationship for space
The Daily Telegraph — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Boeing Space Flight Postponed After Mishap at Space Station
Wall Street Journal — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list