spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches NRO payload
Posted: Fri, May 23, 2014, 10:04 AM ET (1404 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of NROL-33 (ULA) An Atlas 5 rocket successfully placed a classified satellite into orbit on Thursday, the second launch in less than a week by United Launch Alliance. The Atlas 5 401 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, on schedule at 9:09 am EDT (1309 GMT) on a mission for the National Reconnaissance Office (NRO) designated NROL-33. The purpose of the satellite was not disclosed by the NRO, although outside experts believe the payload is a communications relay satellite. The launch took place less than a week after a Delta 4 rocket launched a GPS navigation satellite, also from Cape Canaveral.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin postpones first New Glenn launch to late 2022
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Virgin Galactic again delays SpaceShipTwo flights
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)

China launches ocean reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 28
The American Dream Is Alive on Mars
Wall Street Journal — 7:42 pm ET (0042 GMT)
Rocket for Anders Holch Povlsen on Sutherland spaceport
Sunday Times of London — 8:56 am ET (1356 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list