spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dragon capsule returns to Earth
Posted: Mon, May 19, 2014, 8:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
Dragon SpX-3 splahsdown (SpaceX) A Dragon spacecraft departed from the International Space Station early Sunday and splashed down in the Pacific Ocean several hours later. The Dragon spacecraft, flying a cargo mission designated SpX-3 by NASA and CRS-3 by SpaceX, was unberthed from the Harmony module by the station's robotic arm, releasing it at 9:26 am EDT (1326 GMT) Sunday. Dragon maneuvered away from the station and, several hours later, fired its engines to return to Earth. The spacecraft splashed down in the Pacific Ocean about 500 kilometers off the Baja California coast at 3:05 pm EDT (1905 GMT), and was recovered by SpaceX vessels. Dragon brought back nearly 1,600 kilograms of cargo and science experiments from the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin postpones first New Glenn launch to late 2022
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:12 AM ET (1512 GMT)

Virgin Galactic again delays SpaceShipTwo flights
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:08 AM ET (1508 GMT)

China launches ocean reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Fri, Feb 26 10:05 AM ET (1505 GMT)

news links
Sunday, February 28
The American Dream Is Alive on Mars
Wall Street Journal — 7:42 pm ET (0042 GMT)
Rocket for Anders Holch Povlsen on Sutherland spaceport
Sunday Times of London — 8:56 am ET (1356 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list