spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dragon capsule returns to Earth
Posted: Mon, May 19, 2014, 8:16 AM ET (1216 GMT)
Dragon SpX-3 splahsdown (SpaceX) A Dragon spacecraft departed from the International Space Station early Sunday and splashed down in the Pacific Ocean several hours later. The Dragon spacecraft, flying a cargo mission designated SpX-3 by NASA and CRS-3 by SpaceX, was unberthed from the Harmony module by the station's robotic arm, releasing it at 9:26 am EDT (1326 GMT) Sunday. Dragon maneuvered away from the station and, several hours later, fired its engines to return to Earth. The spacecraft splashed down in the Pacific Ocean about 500 kilometers off the Baja California coast at 3:05 pm EDT (1905 GMT), and was recovered by SpaceX vessels. Dragon brought back nearly 1,600 kilograms of cargo and science experiments from the station.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Blue Origin launches first crewed New Shepard mission
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:48 PM ET (2048 GMT)

China launches Yaogan-30 satellites
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:39 PM ET (2039 GMT)

Rocket Lab identifies cause of launch failure
Posted: Sat, Jul 24 4:37 PM ET (2037 GMT)

news links
Friday, July 30
We need a special relationship for space
The Daily Telegraph — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
Boeing Space Flight Postponed After Mishap at Space Station
Wall Street Journal — 6:27 am ET (1027 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list