spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Technical problem postpones Vega launch
Posted: Tue, Apr 29, 2014, 6:37 AM ET (1037 GMT)
KazEOSat-1 illustration (Airbus Group) A problem with a umbilical scrubbed Monday night's scheduled launch of a Kazakh remote sensing satellite on a Vega rocket. The launch of the DZZ-HR satellite, also known as KasEOSat-1, on a European Vega rocket was slated to take place at 9:35 pm EDT Monday (0135 GMT Tuesday) from Kourou, French Guiana. However, the launch was scrubbed less than a half-hour before launch when engineers noted "a non-compliant behavior of the payload’s ventilation umbilical" when the rocket's gantry was removed. A new launch date is expected to be announced Tuesday, after an inspection of the launch facilities. KazEOSat-1, built by Airbus Defence and Space for the government of Kazakhstan, is a 900-kilogram satellite than will provide imagery with resolutions of as sharp as one meter to support various civil applications.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, June 29
Space Force Poised to Get a New Plans and Programs Chief
Air Force Magazine — 6:06 am ET (1006 GMT)
Rocket Lab launches Nasa satellite to the Moon
New Zealand Herald — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list