spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Proton launches Russia, Kazakh satellites
Posted: Mon, Apr 28, 2014, 6:45 PM ET (2245 GMT)
Proton launch of Luch-5V and KazSat-3 (Roscosmos) A Proton rocket successfully launched communications satellites for Russia and Kazakhstan on Monday. The Proton-M rocket lifted off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome at 12:25 am EDT (0425 GMT, 10:25 am local time) Monday carrying the Luch-5V and KazSat-3 communications satellites. The two satellites were deployed into their target orbits about nine hours later, according to official Russian reports. Luch-5V is the third in a series of communications relay satellites operating in GEO, supporting the Russian segment of the ISS and other spacecraft. KazSat-3, built by Russian manufacturer ISS-Reshetnev for the Kazakh government, will provide telecommunications services for the central Asian country.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:36 PM ET (1636 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:29 PM ET (1629 GMT)

Kuaizhou-1A returns to flight
Posted: Sat, Jun 25 12:26 PM ET (1626 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, June 29
Space Force Poised to Get a New Plans and Programs Chief
Air Force Magazine — 6:06 am ET (1006 GMT)
Rocket Lab launches Nasa satellite to the Moon
New Zealand Herald — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list