spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 cleared for launch to ISS Monday
Posted: Mon, Apr 14, 2014, 6:50 AM ET (1050 GMT)
NASA officials approved plans to launch a Dragon cargo spacecraft on a Falcon 9 Monday afternoon despite the failure of a backup computer on the ISS. The launch of the Dragon spacecraft on its third Commercial Resupply Services (CRS) mission to the station is scheduled for 4:58 pm EDT (2058 GMT) Monday from Cape Canaveral. NASA approved the launch plan after concluding there was sufficient redundancy among station systems after a backup computer mounted on the station's exterior malfunctioned on Friday. ISS operations are going normally despite the failure, and station managers concluded that even if there was another failure on the station, there were sufficient backups to allow Dragon to launch, rendezvousing with the station on Wednesday. A spacewalk to replace the failed computer is tentatively planned for April 22. The Dragon is carrying supplies and new experiments to the station. The launch was previously scheduled for March 30 but postponed by a tracking radar failure at the Cape.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list