spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Comet ISON fate unclear after perihelion passage
Posted: Fri, Nov 29, 2013, 10:03 AM ET (1503 GMT)
ISON seen by SOHO after perihelion (ESA) At least part of Comet ISON may have survived a close flyby of the Sun on Thursday after astronomers initially thought the comet was completely vaporized during the passage. The comet passed about 1.2 million kilometers from the Sun at 1:37 pm EST (1837 GMT) Thursday, and images taken by NASA's SDO spacecraft failed to detect the comet immediately before or after that closest approach. While astronomers speculated at the time that ISON may have been destroyed during the flyby, the comet reappeared later Thursday in images taken by the SOHO and STEREO spacecraft, indicating that parts of the comet, or debris from it, survived. Further observations are required to determine how much of the comet survived and how visible it will be as it recedes from the Sun.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 8
How Covid is strengthening our ties to outer space
Israel21c — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list