spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Progress docks with ISS in manual mode
Posted: Sat, Nov 30, 2013, 9:49 AM ET (1449 GMT)
Progress M-20M approaching ISS (NASA) The crew of the International Space Station took control of a Progress cargo spacecraft and docked it manually to the station late Friday after the spacecraft's automated rendezvous system malfunctioned. The Progress M-21M spacecraft, launched Monday from Baikonur, approached the station on a normal automated approach, but entered an unexpected stationkeeping mode 60 meters from the station. ISS cosmonaut Oleg Kotov took control of the spacecraft using a backup teleoperation system called TORU and docked the Progress with the station's Zvezda module at 5:30 pm EST (2230 GMT). The Progress made a flyby of the station on Wednesday to test an upgraded rendezvous system, and no issues were reported with that test. The Progress is carrying about 2.7 metric tons of supplies for the station's six-person crew.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship completes suborbital test flight
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)

Blue Origin to auction off New Shepard seat
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

SpaceX launches more Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 12
SBIRS GEO-5 Encapsulated Ahead of Upcoming Launch
US Space Force — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
STPSat-6 safely arrives in Florida
US Space Force — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Vandenberg renaming to match Space Force designation
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list