spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Falcon 9 launch scrubbed again
Posted: Fri, Nov 29, 2013, 9:44 AM ET (1444 GMT)
Falcon 9 after second SES-8 launch scrub (SpaceX) SpaceX scrubbed a second attempt to launch a Falcon 9 rocket carrying a commercial satellite, halting the countdown as the first stage engines started to fire. After technical issues scrubbed a launch attempt Monday, SpaceX planned to launch the SES-8 satellite at 5:39 pm EST (2239 GMT) Thursday on what would have been the first Thanksgiving Day launch from Cape Canaveral since 1959. The countdown went smoothly, but a hold was called as the nine first stage engines ignited, but the vehicle still safely clamped down on the pad. SpaceX reported that engine thrust was ramping up slower than expected, triggering the automated abort. SpaceX attempted to recycle for another attempt at the end of the 65-minute launch window, but halted the countdown with a minute to go because launch controllers determined they needed more time to inspect the data from the scrub. SpaceX has not announced a new launch date other than it would likely be a "few days" before trying again.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Rocket Lab Electron launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 5 10:02 AM ET (1402 GMT)

UK government, Indian company to buy OneWeb
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:50 AM ET (1450 GMT)

China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sat, Jul 4 10:43 AM ET (1443 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, July 8
How Covid is strengthening our ties to outer space
Israel21c — 6:11 am ET (1011 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list