spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Comet ISON to fly around Sun on Thursday
Posted: Thu, Nov 28, 2013, 9:11 AM ET (1411 GMT)
Comet ISON in November 2013 (NASA A comet that, for more than a year, has been billed by many as the "Comet of the Century" will make its closest approach to the Sun on Thursday, with astronomers watching to see if the comet survives the encounter. Comet ISON will reach perihelion at 1:37 pm EST (1837 GMT) Thursday, passing about 1.2 million kilometers from the Sun. NASA spacecraft, including the SOHO and STEREO spacecraft, will be observing ISON to see if it survives the close approach. If it does, the comet should be easily visible in early December as it heads out from the Sun. Since its discovery last fall, the comet was widely expected to be a brilliant object in the night sky, although it has not met those expectations so far during its approach to the Sun.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Tropical storm delays next Artemis 1 launch attempt
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:56 AM ET (1256 GMT)

Soyuz delivers new crew to ISS
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:49 AM ET (1249 GMT)

Pentagon to phase out use of GEO missile warning satellites
Posted: Sun, Sep 25 8:46 AM ET (1246 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, September 28


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list