spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Technical glitches scrub Falcon 9 launch
Posted: Tue, Nov 26, 2013, 6:49 AM ET (1149 GMT)
Falcon 9 v1.1 before SES-8 launch A series of technical problems prevented SpaceX from carrying out its launch of a commercial GEO satellite on Monday evening, delaying the launch until at least Thursday. SpaceX had hoped to launch a Falcon 9 v1.1 rocket carrying the SES-8 satellite during a 66-minute window that opened at 5:37 pm EST (2237 GMT) Monday. However, the countdown stopped a little over six minutes before launch because of a telemetry limit issue with a power supply as the first stage transitioned to internal power. SpaceX reset the countdown and tried again, but held at 3:40 before launch because of what the company said were "unexpected readings" with the first stage liquid oxygen system. Assuming the problems are resolved, SpaceX plans to make another launch attempt at 5:38 pm EST (2238 GMT) Thursday. The launch will be the second for the Falcon 9 v1.1 and seventh for the Falcon 9 family overall, but the first to carry a satellite payload to geosynchronous orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:07 AM ET (1607 GMT)

China launches lunar sample return mission
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

Relativity Space raises $500 million
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)

news links
Saturday, November 28
Lucas Warns of Risk Posed by Chinese Launch to the Moon
House Science, Space and Technology Committee Republican Caucus — 9:13 am ET (1413 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list