spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Technical glitches scrub Falcon 9 launch
Posted: Tue, Nov 26, 2013, 6:49 AM ET (1149 GMT)
Falcon 9 v1.1 before SES-8 launch A series of technical problems prevented SpaceX from carrying out its launch of a commercial GEO satellite on Monday evening, delaying the launch until at least Thursday. SpaceX had hoped to launch a Falcon 9 v1.1 rocket carrying the SES-8 satellite during a 66-minute window that opened at 5:37 pm EST (2237 GMT) Monday. However, the countdown stopped a little over six minutes before launch because of a telemetry limit issue with a power supply as the first stage transitioned to internal power. SpaceX reset the countdown and tried again, but held at 3:40 before launch because of what the company said were "unexpected readings" with the first stage liquid oxygen system. Assuming the problems are resolved, SpaceX plans to make another launch attempt at 5:38 pm EST (2238 GMT) Thursday. The launch will be the second for the Falcon 9 v1.1 and seventh for the Falcon 9 family overall, but the first to carry a satellite payload to geosynchronous orbit.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship completes suborbital test flight
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)

Blue Origin to auction off New Shepard seat
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

SpaceX launches more Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 12
SBIRS GEO-5 Encapsulated Ahead of Upcoming Launch
US Space Force — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
STPSat-6 safely arrives in Florida
US Space Force — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Vandenberg renaming to match Space Force designation
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list