spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dnepr launches more than 30 satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 22, 2013, 6:50 AM ET (1150 GMT)
Dnepr launch of DubaiSat-2 and 31 other satellites (Kosmotras) A Dnepr rocket placed a payload of more than 30 small satellites into orbit on Thursday, breaking a record for the most satellites launched at once that had been set just earlier this week. The Dnepr rocket, a converted SS-18 ICBM, lifted off from the Yazny Launch Base in southern Russia at 2:10 am EST (0710 GMT) Thursday. Kosmtras, the company that markets the Dnepr for satellite launches, declared the launch a success. The rocket was carrying a total of 32 satellites, including satellites inside other spacecraft that will be deployed once in orbit. Notable satellites on the launch include the DubaiSat-2 remote sensing satellite, weighing 300 kilograms; STSat-3 for South Korea, weighing 170 kilograms; and Sky-Sat-1, a 90-kilogram satellite for American commercial remote sensing company Skybox Imaging. Also included in the fleet of CubeSats launched by the Dnepr are the Dove-3 and -4 satellites for another commercial remote sensing company, Planet Labs. The 32 satellites launched broke the record of 29 satellites launched Tuesday night on a Minotaur rocket from Virginia.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches Starlink satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:07 AM ET (1607 GMT)

China launches lunar sample return mission
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 11:03 AM ET (1603 GMT)

Relativity Space raises $500 million
Posted: Fri, Nov 27 10:58 AM ET (1558 GMT)

news links
Sunday, November 29
Skywatch: What’s happening in the heavens in December
Washington Post — 8:52 am ET (1352 GMT)

Saturday, November 28


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list