spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dnepr launches more than 30 satellites
Posted: Fri, Nov 22, 2013, 6:50 AM ET (1150 GMT)
Dnepr launch of DubaiSat-2 and 31 other satellites (Kosmotras) A Dnepr rocket placed a payload of more than 30 small satellites into orbit on Thursday, breaking a record for the most satellites launched at once that had been set just earlier this week. The Dnepr rocket, a converted SS-18 ICBM, lifted off from the Yazny Launch Base in southern Russia at 2:10 am EST (0710 GMT) Thursday. Kosmtras, the company that markets the Dnepr for satellite launches, declared the launch a success. The rocket was carrying a total of 32 satellites, including satellites inside other spacecraft that will be deployed once in orbit. Notable satellites on the launch include the DubaiSat-2 remote sensing satellite, weighing 300 kilograms; STSat-3 for South Korea, weighing 170 kilograms; and Sky-Sat-1, a 90-kilogram satellite for American commercial remote sensing company Skybox Imaging. Also included in the fleet of CubeSats launched by the Dnepr are the Dove-3 and -4 satellites for another commercial remote sensing company, Planet Labs. The 32 satellites launched broke the record of 29 satellites launched Tuesday night on a Minotaur rocket from Virginia.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Starship completes suborbital test flight
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:28 AM ET (1528 GMT)

Blue Origin to auction off New Shepard seat
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:22 AM ET (1522 GMT)

SpaceX launches more Starlink satellites
Posted: Sat, May 8 11:15 AM ET (1515 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, May 12
SBIRS GEO-5 Encapsulated Ahead of Upcoming Launch
US Space Force — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
STPSat-6 safely arrives in Florida
US Space Force — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
Vandenberg renaming to match Space Force designation
KEYT-TV Santa Barbara, CA — 6:12 am ET (1012 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list