spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Cygnus departs ISS
Posted: Wed, Oct 23, 2013, 7:30 AM ET (1130 GMT)
Cygnus departs ISS on 1st mission (NASA) The first Cygnus cargo spacecraft completed its demonstration mission to the International Space Station (ISS) on Tuesday, departing the station for a destructive reentry. The station's Canadarm2 robotic arm unberthed the Cygnus spacecraft from the station's Harmony node at around 6 am EDT (1000 GMT) Tuesday and released it an hour and a half later. Cygnus used its thrusters to quickly depart the vicinity of the station; it will fire its thrusters one final time Wednesday afternoon to deorbit and reenter destructively. Cygnus launched on an Antares rocket September 18 and berthed with the station September 29. Cygnus brought about 700 kilograms of cargo to the station, and was loaded with 1,100 kilograms of trash for disposal before departing. The success of the mission clears the way for Orbital to begin regular cargo delivery missions as soon as December.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Russian cosmonauts perform spacewalk
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:40 AM ET (1340 GMT)

China launches communications satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:38 AM ET (1338 GMT)

Russia launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 12 9:37 AM ET (1337 GMT)

news links
Friday, September 17
U.S. Air Force Academy honors airman and astronaut Colonel Fred Gregory
KXRM-TV Colorado Springs — 8:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
SpaceX’s Historic Week Ushers in New Possibilities for Space Exploration
Los Angeles Business Journal — 8:16 am ET (1216 GMT)
SpaceX Inspiration4 Crew Wraps Up First Day in Space
Wall Street Journal — 8:15 am ET (1215 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list