spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


China launches small satellite
Posted: Wed, Sep 25, 2013, 1:49 PM ET (1749 GMT)
A new small Chinese rocket launched a small Earth observing satellite on Wednesday. The rocket, called Kuaizhou, lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 12:37 am EDT (0437 GMT, 12:37 pm Beijing time) Wednesday and placed the Kuaizhou 1 satellite into orbit. Chinese media said the satellite would be used to monitor natural disasters. The launch, or the existence of the Kuaizhou rocket, had not been announced by China before the launch. Kuaizhou translates as "speedy vessel", leading some to speculate that the rocket is a rapid launch system of some kind, perhaps derived from solid-fuel ballistic missiles.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX launches second set of Gen2 Starlink satellites
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:04 AM ET (1504 GMT)

Japan launches military reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 10:00 AM ET (1500 GMT)

Rocket Lab conducts first Electron launch from Virginia
Posted: Sun, Jan 29 9:58 AM ET (1458 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, February 1
SpaceX's Starlink is active in Africa for the first time
Business Insider — 7:32 am ET (1232 GMT)
Bronco Space launches PROVES satellite into orbit
Cal Poly Ponoma Poly Post — 7:28 am ET (1228 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list