spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Minotaur launches LADEE lunar mission
Posted: Sat, Sep 7, 2013, 11:35 AM ET (1535 GMT)
Minotaur 5 launch of LADEE (Orbital Sciences) A Minotaur 5 successfully launched a NASA lunar orbiter spacecraft Friday night, although project officials said the spacecraft is suffering from what they consider to be a minor problem. The Minotaur 5, a version of the Minotaur 4 rocket with an additional stage, launched from the Wallops Flight Facility in Virginia at 11:27 pm EDT Friday (0327 GMT Saturday) and placed the Lunar Atmosphere and Dust Environment Explorer (LADEE) spacecraft into a highly elliptical orbit. LADEE will transition from this orbit into one around the Moon in early October, and start its 100-day science mission a month later. The spacecraft, weighing less than 400 kilograms, will study the Moon's extremely tenuous atmosphere and the behavior of lunar dust. Project officials said that the spacecraft encountered a problem with its reaction wheels immediately after entering orbit, but believe the problem is not a serious one and can be resolved before the spacecraft arrives at the Moon.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
China launches Wentian space station module
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:58 PM ET (2258 GMT)

SpaceX performs two Starlink launches
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:53 PM ET (2253 GMT)

European, Russian ISS crewmembers perform spacewalk
Posted: Fri, Jul 29 6:48 PM ET (2248 GMT)

news links
Wednesday, August 10
Viasat / Inmarsat merger inquiry
UK Competition and Markets Authority — 6:28 am ET (1028 GMT)
CMA adds heat to Viasat, Inmarsat merger
Mobile World Live — 6:26 am ET (1026 GMT)
Inmarsat deal to be investigated
The Times of London — 6:25 am ET (1025 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list