spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Dnepr launches South Korean satellite
Posted: Fri, Aug 23, 2013, 2:44 PM ET (1844 GMT)
Dnepr launch of Kompsat-5 (Kosmotras) A Dnepr rocket launched a South Korean radar imaging satellite on Thursday. The Dnepr rocket lifted off from Yasny missile base in southern Russia at 10:39 am EDT (1439 GMT) carrying the Kompsat-5 spacecraft (also known as Arirang-5), placing it into a 550-kilometer sun-synchronous orbit. The 1,400-kilogram satellite, built by the Korea Aerospace Research Institute, carries a synthetic aperture radar payload that will be used for radar mapping. The launch was the first for the Dnepr, a converted SS-18 ICBM, since 2011.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
InSight Mars mission nears end
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)

NASA puts ISS spacewalks on hold to investigate suit issue
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites from KSC
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:12 AM ET (1312 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 26
SpaceX Launches Fifth Rideshare Mission
Aviation Week — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)
SpaceX launches first Armenian satellite
Public Radio of Armenia — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list