spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches X-37B
Posted: Sun, Mar 6, 2011, 8:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of X-37B OTV-2 (ULA) An Atlas 5 successfully launched a secretive military spaceplane on Saturday after a one-day delay. The Atlas 5 501 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 5:46 pm EST (2246 GMT) Saturday, after poor weather scrubbed the original launch attempt on Friday. The rocket placed into orbit the X-37B, a prototype military spaceplane on a mission designated Orbital Test Vehicle 2 (OTV-2). This is the second flight of the vehicle: the first X-37B launched in April of last year and landed at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California in December. The X-37 was originally developed by NASA but is now operated by the Air Force Rapid Capabilities Office.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Voyager Space Holdings to take majority stake in Nanoracks
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:36 PM ET (1736 GMT)

SLS upper stage passes review
Posted: Sat, Jan 2 12:33 PM ET (1733 GMT)

news links
Saturday, January 23
Opinion: The future of spaceflight is female
Houston Chronicle — 8:19 am ET (1319 GMT)
Here's What Biden Should Prioritize at NASA
Gizmodo — 8:17 am ET (1317 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list