spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Atlas 5 launches X-37B
Posted: Sun, Mar 6, 2011, 8:42 AM ET (1342 GMT)
Atlas 5 launch of X-37B OTV-2 (ULA) An Atlas 5 successfully launched a secretive military spaceplane on Saturday after a one-day delay. The Atlas 5 501 lifted off from Cape Canaveral, Florida, at 5:46 pm EST (2246 GMT) Saturday, after poor weather scrubbed the original launch attempt on Friday. The rocket placed into orbit the X-37B, a prototype military spaceplane on a mission designated Orbital Test Vehicle 2 (OTV-2). This is the second flight of the vehicle: the first X-37B launched in April of last year and landed at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California in December. The X-37 was originally developed by NASA but is now operated by the Air Force Rapid Capabilities Office.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
InSight Mars mission nears end
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:17 AM ET (1317 GMT)

NASA puts ISS spacewalks on hold to investigate suit issue
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:13 AM ET (1313 GMT)

SpaceX launches Starlink satellites from KSC
Posted: Sun, May 22 9:12 AM ET (1312 GMT)

news links
Thursday, May 26
SpaceX Launches Fifth Rideshare Mission
Aviation Week — 6:08 am ET (1008 GMT)
SpaceX launches first Armenian satellite
Public Radio of Armenia — 6:05 am ET (1005 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list