spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


SpaceX flies Starhopper vehicle
Posted: Fri, Aug 30 6:13 PM ET (2213 GMT)
SpaceX's Starhopper vehicle performed its highest, and final, test flight Tuesday. The vehicle, an early prototype of SpaceX's next-generation Starship system, took...

NASA inspector general asks for relief on Europa Clipper launch requirement
Posted: Fri, Aug 30 6:11 PM ET (2211 GMT)
NASA's inspector general is asking Congress to remove a requirement in law that the agency launch the Europa Clipper mission on the Space Launch...

Vector replaces CEO and suspends operations
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:03 PM ET (2003 GMT)
Small launch vehicle company Vector suspended operations and replaced its CEO Friday because of financial problems. In a statement late Friday, the company said that...

Atlas 5 launches AEHF-5 communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 4:00 PM ET (2000 GMT)
An Atlas 5 lifted off early Thursday morning carrying a military communications satellite. The United Launch Alliance Atlas 5 551 launched from Cape Canaveral, Florida,...

Ariane 5 launches two communications satellites
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 3:58 PM ET (1958 GMT)
An Ariane 5 successfully launched two communications satellites Tuesday. The Ariane 5 took off at 3:30 pm EDT (1930 GMT) from Kourou, French Guiana,...

Falcon 9 launches Israeli communications satellite
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 3:57 PM ET (1957 GMT)
SpaceX placed an Israeli satellite into orbit Tuesday. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida at 7:23 pm...

Rocket Lab will attempt to reuse Electron first stage
Posted: Mon, Aug 12 3:56 PM ET (1956 GMT)
Rocket Lab announced Tuesday that it will attempt to recover and reuse the first stage of its Electron rocket. The company has already started work...

SpaceX launches Dragon cargo spacecraft to ISS
Posted: Sun, Jul 28 10:19 AM ET (1419 GMT)
SpaceX successfully launched a Dragon cargo spacecraft to the International Space Station Thursday. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Cape Canaveral at 6:01 pm...

China launches reconnaissance satellites
Posted: Sun, Jul 28 10:18 AM ET (1418 GMT)
China launched a set of reconnaissance satellites Friday. A Long March 2C lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 11:57 pm EDT...

Chinese startup becomes country's first private entity to place satellite in orbit
Posted: Sun, Jul 28 10:17 AM ET (1417 GMT)
A Chinese startup became the first private company in the country to place a payload into orbit Thursday. The Hyperbola-1 rocket from iSpace lifted...



news in brief
Weather scrubs Demo-2 launch attempt
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:26 PM ET (2226 GMT)

First LauncherOne mission fails to reach orbit
Posted: Thu, May 28 6:24 PM ET (2224 GMT)

Soyuz launches missile early warning satellite
Posted: Sun, May 24 10:55 AM ET (1455 GMT)

news links
Friday, May 29
Space Force's Newest Ad Asks What's Ahead for Humanity
Military.com — 6:21 am ET (1021 GMT)
What’s a Space Weapon? The Answer Can Be Complicated.
Air Force Magazine — 6:20 am ET (1020 GMT)
No stopping Rocket Lab in new alert level
Gisbourne (NZ) Herald — 6:19 am ET (1019 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list