STS-107 special report
China launches reconnaissance satellite
Posted: Sat, Nov 28 3:51 PM ET (2051 GMT)
Long March 4C launch of Yaogan 29 (Xinhua) China launched the latest in a series of reconnaissance satellites on Thursday. A Long March 4C rocket lifted off from the Taiyuan Satellite Launch Center at 4:24 pm EDT Wednesday (2124 GMT Wednesday, 5:24 am Thursday Beijing time) and placed the Yaogan-29 satellite into orbit. The satellite, according to official media accounts, will be used for experiments and civil applications, but outside observers widely believe the Yaogan series is used for military applications.

China launches communications satellite for Laos
Posted: Sat, Nov 21 6:11 PM ET (2311 GMT)
Long March 3B launch of LaoSat-1 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket successfully launched a communications satellite developed for Laos. The Long March 3B lifted off from the Xichang Satellite Launch Center at 11:07 am EDT Friday (1607 GMT Friday, 12:07 am Beijing time Saturday) and placed the LaoSat-1 satellite into orbit. The 3,800-kilogram satellite was built by the China Academy of Space Technology for the government of Laos. The spacecraft will operate at 128.5 degrees east in GEO, providing communications services in C- and Ku-bands.

Sunday, November 29
Radar spy satellite launched by China
Spaceflight Now — 3:40 am ET (0840 GMT)

Saturday, November 28
Chinese Long March 4C rocket conducts surprise Yaogan-29 launch
SpaceFlight Insider — 2:16 am ET (0716 GMT)

Friday, November 27
China launches latest Yaogan Weixing satellite via Long March 4C — 2:07 am ET (0707 GMT)

Monday, November 23
China launches first satellite for Laos
Spaceflight Now — 4:39 am ET (0939 GMT)

Sunday, November 22

Saturday, November 21

Friday, November 20
Long March 3B lofts LaoSat-1 — 7:38 pm ET (0038 GMT)

Monday, November 16

Sunday, November 15

Friday, November 13

Monday, November 9
Intelligence-gathering satellite launched by China
Spaceflight Now — 7:04 pm ET (0004 GMT)
China launches Long March 4B rocket with Yaogan 28 satellite
SpaceFlight Insider — 3:47 am ET (0847 GMT)
China launches Yaogan Weixing-28 via Long March 4B — 3:40 am ET (0840 GMT)

Sunday, November 8

Friday, November 6

Wednesday, November 4