spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
Long March 5 launch fails
Posted: Sun, Jul 9 6:47 AM ET (1147 GMT)
Long March 5 launch of Shijian-18 (Xinhua) The second launch of China's Long March 5 heavy-lift rocket ended in failure July 2. The rocket lifted off from the Wenchang Satellite Launch Center on the island of Hainan at 7:23 am EDT (1123 GMT) and initially appeared to go as planned. About 45 minutes after liftoff, though, Chinese media reported that the launch had failed, but did not provide additional information. Some observers of in-flight video noticed a plume of gas from one of the engines in the core stage of the rocket more than five minutes after liftoff, suggesting a malfunction of the engine. The rocket's payload was Shijian-18, a large experimental communications satellite. The rocket's next flight was planned for November, carrying the Chang'e-5 lunar sample return mission.


China wins order for Indonesian satellite
Posted: Sun, May 21 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)
China Great Wall and Palapa Satelit Nusantara Sejahtera, an Indonesian joint venture, signed a contract May 17 in Jakarta for the Palapa-N1 spacecraft. Palapa-N1 will carry a Ku-band payload and replace Palapa-D, whose orbital lifetime was limited when the Long March rocket that launched it in 2009 underperformed. The companies also announced a non-binding agreement for a Ka-band satellite, PSN-7.





Friday, August 18

Tuesday, August 15
Russia and China to boost space cooperation
TASS — 4:31 am ET (0931 GMT)

Saturday, August 12
Chinese quantum satellite sends 'unbreakable' code
Reuters — 8:57 am ET (1357 GMT)

Friday, August 11

Thursday, August 10
China eyes manned lunar landing by 2036
SpaceFlight Insider — 12:45 am ET (0545 GMT)

Tuesday, August 8
China to build first Mars simulation base
Xinhua — 6:04 am ET (1104 GMT)

Monday, August 7

Saturday, August 5

Friday, August 4

Thursday, August 3

Wednesday, August 2

Saturday, July 29
China developing atomic clock for Beidou system
Xinhua — 7:56 am ET (1256 GMT)

Friday, July 28

Wednesday, July 26

Friday, July 21
Coordinating China’s satellite constellations
Asia & The Pacific Policy Society — 4:34 am ET (0934 GMT)

Thursday, July 20
Russia, China to Set Up Pilot Zone to Test National Navigation Systems
Sputnik International — 5:11 pm ET (2211 GMT)

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE