spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
China wins order for Indonesian satellite
Posted: Sun, May 21 9:00 AM ET (1400 GMT)
China Great Wall and Palapa Satelit Nusantara Sejahtera, an Indonesian joint venture, signed a contract May 17 in Jakarta for the Palapa-N1 spacecraft. Palapa-N1 will carry a Ku-band payload and replace Palapa-D, whose orbital lifetime was limited when the Long March rocket that launched it in 2009 underperformed. The companies also announced a non-binding agreement for a Ka-band satellite, PSN-7.


Chinese satellites raising orbits after launch anomaly
Posted: Sat, Dec 31 9:51 AM ET (1551 GMT)
Long March 2D launch of two SuperView-1 satellites (Xinhua) Two Chinese satellites placed in the wrong orbit after a launch earlier this week are raising their orbits. The two SuperView-1 Earth imaging spacecraft, launched Wednesday morning Beijing time on a Long March 2D, were placed in elliptical orbits with a perigee much lower than planned. Tracking data indicates that the two satellites are raising their orbits, likely using their own thrusters. A small student-built satellite also flown on the rocket remains in that original elliptical orbit. Neither the satellites' owner nor other Chinese officials have commented on the apparent problem with the rocket that left the satellites in the wrong orbit.





Monday, June 26
China to launch Long March-5 Y2 in early July
Xinhua — 3:39 am ET (0839 GMT)

Saturday, June 24
Did ISRO just put a Chinese satellite into orbit?
The Hindu Business Line — 6:53 am ET (1153 GMT)

Thursday, June 22

Wednesday, June 21

Tuesday, June 20

Monday, June 19
China Launches Its First X-ray Observatory
Sky & Telescope — 6:04 pm ET (2304 GMT)
Simplified Long March 5 To Loft China’s Space Station
Aviation Week — 5:48 pm ET (2248 GMT)
Long March 3B launches Zhongxing-9A satellite, fate uncertain
SpaceFlight Insider — 4:46 am ET (0946 GMT)
Long March 3B lofts ChinaSat 9A – mission success unknown
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 4:40 am ET (0940 GMT)

Sunday, June 18

Saturday, June 17

Friday, June 16

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE