spacetoday.net STS-107 special report
Panel members criticize NASA return to flight work
Posted: Thu, Aug 18 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)
NASA Several members of a task force charged with evaluating NASA's effort to return the space shuttle flight believe the agency has yet to solve cultural problems that were at the root of the Columbia accident two and a half years ago. In an appendix to the final report of the Stafford-Covey Return to Flight Task Force, seven of the group's 26 members concluded that organizational and cultural issues that had been previously identified as contributing to the Columbia accident still existed within NASA. The minority group, whose members included former astronaut Susan Helms and former CBO director Dan Crippen, said the shuttle program still suffered from a lack of ""focused, consistent leadership and management". The members cited a lack of program management skills and "rigor in execution" as signs of a problem. The minority report, which task group co-chairs Thomas Stafford and Richard Covey declined to comment on, was included at the behest of NASA administrator Michael Griffin.


Panel finds NASA falls short on shuttle fixes
Posted: Tue, Jun 28 7:09 AM ET (1109 GMT)
STS-107: launch (NASA/KSC) An independent panel reviewing NASA's compliance with recommendations made in the wake of the Columbia accident found that the agency has failed to meet three critical recommendations, but members of the panel said that this shortcoming should not affect next month's scheduled launch. The Stafford-Covey Return to Flight Task Group, meeting for the final time Monday, concluded that NASA did not fully meet three of 15 recommendations made in August 2003 by the Columbia Accident Investigation Board (CAIB). Those recommendations cover eliminating debris from the external tank during launch, strengthening the orbiter against impacts, and developing on-orbit repair techniques for damaged shuttle tiles and panels. However, members of the task force said Monday that NASA went to great effort to try to meet those recommendations, and that the shuttle is probably safe to fly despite those issues. NASA has scheduled a flight readiness review for later this week to review planning for the STS-114 shuttle mission, scheduled for launch between July 13 and 31. NASA is expected to announce a specific launch date after the meeting. NASA officials previously indicated that they would make their decision independent of the task group's final report.





Sunday, February 1
Columbia - her legacy honored via safety management
NasaSpaceFlight.com — 6:59 pm ET (2359 GMT)

Monday, February 25
Hale and farewell
The Space Review — 8:56 am ET (1356 GMT)

Friday, February 1
Columbia's Legacy Drives NASA Shuttle Flights
SPACE.com — 4:36 am ET (0936 GMT)

Wednesday, January 30

Wednesday, August 22
NASA Culture Changed by Columbia
NPR — 5:25 am ET (0925 GMT)

Sunday, January 1
Columbia Survivors
Astrobiology Magazine — 9:34 am ET (1434 GMT)

Friday, October 21

Monday, August 22
Blistering Critique Stings NASA Leadership
Aviation Week — 9:09 am ET (1309 GMT)

Friday, August 19
Task force members rap NASA effort to return shuttle to flight
Government Executive Magazine — 6:32 am ET (1032 GMT)

Thursday, August 18
NASA accused of 'cycle of smugness' over shuttle
New Scientist — 12:56 pm ET (1656 GMT)
7 NASA panelists report program is still troubled
USA Today — 6:23 am ET (1023 GMT)
Minority Report Faults NASA as Compromising Safety
New York Times — 6:19 am ET (1019 GMT)
Shuttle problems linger, NASA panel members say
Reuters — 6:14 am ET (1014 GMT)
Members of board overseeing NASA blast space agency
Orlando Sentinel — 6:13 am ET (1013 GMT)
NASA culture still jeopardizes crew safety, a new report says
Houston Chronicle — 6:03 am ET (1003 GMT)
Return-to-flight pressure limited fixes, report says
Florida Today — 5:57 am ET (0957 GMT)

Wednesday, August 17
Minority Report: NASA Standards Disappoint
AP — 6:09 pm ET (2209 GMT)
Task group panelists blast space shuttle management
Spaceflight Now — 6:09 pm ET (2209 GMT)

RETURN TO THE SPACETODAY.NET HOME PAGE