spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


Russia launches military satellite
Posted: Sun, Sep 1, 2019, 9:24 AM ET (1324 GMT)
A Rockot vehicle launched a small satellite for Russia's military Friday. The Rockot lifted off from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in northern Russia at 10:00 am EDT (1400 GMT) carrying the Geo-IK-2 No.13L satellite, placing it into low Earth orbit. The satellite will collect data on the Earth's gravitational field for use in refining models of it employed by missiles and other military systems. Russian military officials said the no longer plan to use the Rockot, a converted ballistic missile, although Roscosmos plans at least one more launch of the vehicle.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief

Astronomers find water in atmosphere of exoplanet
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

China launches three smallsats
Posted: Sun, Sep 15 8:00 AM ET (1200 GMT)

news links
Monday, September 23
Homeowners reject SpaceX buyout offer
Rio Grande Valley Morning Star — 7:07 am ET (1107 GMT)
One problem with 2024 moon landing: Where’s the rocket?
Florida Politics — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list