spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


First Falcon 9 Block 5 launches Bangladeshi satellite
Posted: Sat, May 12, 2018, 6:18 PM ET (2218 GMT)
Falcon 9 launch of Bangabandhu-1 (SpaceX) The first Block 5 version of SpaceX's Falcon 9 rocket successfully launched a communications satellite for Bangladesh Friday afternoon. The Falcon 9 lifted off from Launch Complex 39A at the Kennedy Space Center at 4:12 pm EDT (2012 GMT) and deployed the Bangabandhu-1 satellite into a geostationary transfer orbit about 34 minutes later. The satellite, built by Thales Alenia Space for the government of Bangladesh, will provide C- and Ku-band services from 119.1 degrees east in GEO. The launch was the first for the Block 5 version of the Falcon 9, the latest and final major upgrade to the rocket with various improvements to increase its reliability and reusability, including being able to reuse the first stage at least 10 times and with a goal of flying two missions in 24 hours.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Union accepts contract to end ULA strike
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:41 PM ET (1741 GMT)

Contamination found in SLS core stage tubing
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:40 PM ET (1740 GMT)

Appropriators pass NASA spending bill that funds WFIRST
Posted: Sun, May 20 1:39 PM ET (1739 GMT)

news links
Saturday, May 26
Rocket Lab announces new mission launch window
New Zealand Herald — 9:29 am ET (1329 GMT)
Rocket Lab's new window for first launch
NEWS.com.au — 9:28 am ET (1328 GMT)
7 things we learned about SpaceX from COO Gwynne Shotwell
Los Angeles Business Journal — 9:24 am ET (1324 GMT)
Sir Richard Branson training to be astronaut as space race hots up
Press Association — 9:14 am ET (1314 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list