spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews


NASA to fly small helicopter on Mars 2020 rover mission
Posted: Sat, May 12, 2018, 6:14 PM ET (2214 GMT)
Mars Helicopter illustration (NASA) NASA announced Friday that it will fly a small helicopter as a technology demonstration on the Mars 2020 rover mission. The Mars Helicopter, weighing less than 2 kilograms, will be deployed from the rover after landing and perform a series of flight tests over the course of the month. NASA sees the helicopter as demonstrating the ability of a vehicle to serve as an aerial scout, reconnoitering terrain in support of future rover missions. Some involved with the Mars 2020 project have been skeptical about including the helicopter, concerned that it will be a distraction to the overall mission to cache samples for later return to Earth.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Stratolaunch aircraft flies for the first time
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 10:39 AM ET (1439 GMT)

Falcon Heavy launches Arabsat-6A
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 10:37 AM ET (1437 GMT)

Beresheet lander crashes on the Moon
Posted: Sun, Apr 14 10:35 AM ET (1435 GMT)

news links
Thursday, April 18
6.6 Billion Light Years Away: Neutron Stars Merger Radiance Observed
University of Science and Technology of China — 6:43 am ET (1043 GMT)
Five planets revealed after 20 years of observation
Univ. of Geneva — 6:42 am ET (1042 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list