spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

AD: H2M 2014 Conference
China launches Turkish remote sensing satellite
Posted: Wed, Dec 19, 2012, 10:37 AM ET (1537 GMT)
Long March 2D launch of Gokturk-2 (Xinhua) A Chinese Long March rocket successfully launched a Turkish remote sensing satellite on Wednesday. The Long March 2D rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 11:13 am EST Tuesday (1613 GMT Tuesday, 12:13 am Beijing time Wednesday) and placed the Gokturk-2 satellite into a sun-synchronous orbit. The 450-kilogram satellite, built by Turkey's Space Technologies Research Institute and Turkish Aerospace Industries, Inc., with a camera system provided by South Korea, is designed to provide imagery of the Earth at resolutions as high as 2.5 meters. The launch was the 19th by China in 2012 and the last scheduled mission of the year.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
LADEE mission ends with lunar impact
Posted: Sat, Apr 19 7:46 AM ET (1146 GMT)

SpaceX launches Dragon cargo spacecraft to ISS
Posted: Fri, Apr 18 6:23 PM ET (2223 GMT)


news links
Sunday, April 20
Aabar Investments Announces Competition To Send An Emirati Into Space
Abu Dhabi City Guide — 7:03 am ET (1103 GMT)
Emirati to win place on Virgin Galactic space flight
Arabian Business — 7:02 am ET (1102 GMT)
Competition to send Emirati into space
Emirates 24|7 — 7:00 am ET (1100 GMT)
Village has mixed feelings about possible neighbor
Brownsville (TX) Herald — 6:53 am ET (1053 GMT)
SpaceX Falcon Rocket Landed Intact
SEN — 6:44 am ET (1044 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list