spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

Explore Mars event
Yamal-402 enters GEO
Posted: Sat, Dec 15, 2012, 3:35 PM ET (2035 GMT)
A Russian communications satellite launched a week ago but placed in an incorrect orbit has reached geostationary orbit, but at the cost of several years' worth of propellant. A Proton rocket launched the Yamal-402 satellite on December 8, but the final burn of the rocket's Breeze-M upper stage ended four minutes early, leaving the satellite in the wrong transfer orbit. Russian officials said the European-built satellite performed four maneuvers using its own thrusters to raise its orbit to GEO. The extra propellant used in those thruster burns, though, used propellant designed for stationkeeping, and as a result the spacecraft's on-orbit lifetime will be reduced from 15 to 11 years. An investigation into the Breeze M anomaly is underway.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Ariane launches fifth and final ATV spacecraft
Posted: Wed, Jul 30 7:48 AM ET (1148 GMT)

Delta 4 launches space surveillance satellites
Posted: Tue, Jul 29 5:07 AM ET (0907 GMT)

news links
Thursday, July 31
Eric Stallmer Named President of the Commercial Spaceflight Federation
Commercial Spaceflight Federation — 3:27 pm ET (1927 GMT)
Asteroid attacks significantly altered ancient Earth
Eurekalert — 3:26 pm ET (1926 GMT)
Fermi satellite detects gamma-rays from exploding novae
Eurekalert — 3:26 pm ET (1926 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list