spacetoday.net: space news from around the webin association with SpaceNews AD: March Storm 2015

AD: H2M 2015

Chinese spacecraft flies past asteroid Toutatis
Posted: Sun, Dec 16, 2012, 10:54 AM ET (1554 GMT)
Chang'e-2 images of Toutatis during December 2012 flyby A Chinese spacecraft originally launched to orbit the Moon flew past and successfully returned images of the near Earth asteroid Toutatis this week. Chang'e-2 passed by Toutatis on December 13, with its closest approach at a distance of only 3.2 kilometers at 3:30 am EST (0830 GMT, 4:30 pm Beijing time) that day. The spacecraft returned several images of the asteroid from the flyby. China launched Chang'e-2 in October 2010 as a lunar orbiter, and it studied the Moon from orbit until June 2011, when it departed orbit to travel to the Earth-Sun L2 Lagrange point, 1.5 million kilometers from Earth, making it the first Chinese spacecraft to travel beyond the vicinity of the Moon. The spacecraft left L2 earlier this year to make a flyby of Toutatis.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
Air Force head questions schedule for RD-180 replacement
Posted: Fri, Feb 27 5:49 AM ET (1049 GMT)


SES picks SpaceX for two launches
Posted: Thu, Feb 26 6:49 AM ET (1149 GMT)

news links
Saturday, February 28
Hometown 2031: Commercializing Earth's orbit
WAAY-TV Huntsville, AL — 7:24 am ET (1224 GMT)
Why Leonard Nimoy Mattered
Time — 7:23 am ET (1223 GMT)
Leonard Nimoy And Why Space Needs Real Spocks
Forbes.com — 7:20 am ET (1220 GMT)
Satellite set for launch
The Hindu — 7:18 am ET (1218 GMT)
ISRO to increase satellite launch capabilities
Deccan Herald — 7:18 am ET (1218 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list