spacetoday.net: space news from around the web

ExoLance
China launches remote sensing satellite
Posted: Sun, Nov 25, 2012, 8:58 AM ET (1358 GMT)
Long March 4C launch of Yaogan 16 (Xinhua) A Long March rocket placed a Chinese remote sensing satellite into orbit on Sunday. The Long March 4C rocket lifted off from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 11:06 pm EST Saturday (0406 GMT, 12:06 pm Sunday Beijing time) and placed the Yaogan 16 satellite into orbit. The satellite will be used for a variety of earth sciences and disaster management applications, according to official Chinese media. However, it may have military applications as well, as some western observes note that the spacecraft may actually be three spacecraft intended to carry out a naval reconnaissance mission.
<<previous article   next article>>
news in brief
SpaceX delays Falcon 9 launch to review systems
Posted: Wed, Aug 27 8:01 AM ET (1201 GMT)

Commission established to review Soyuz launch anomaly
Posted: Tue, Aug 26 1:02 PM ET (1702 GMT)

Next Falcon 9 launch slips one day
Posted: Mon, Aug 25 4:37 PM ET (2037 GMT)

news links
Thursday, August 28
Five finalist sites chosen for historic comet landing
Spaceflight Now — 7:19 am ET (1119 GMT)
NASA commits to $7 billion SLS development
CBS — 7:18 am ET (1118 GMT)
Earthshine, the Moon’s Darker Side
Sky & Telescope — 7:17 am ET (1117 GMT)

Wednesday, August 27
Spaceports are unlikely to get off the ground
Financial Times — 6:38 pm ET (2238 GMT)


about spacetoday.net   ·   info@spacetoday.net   ·   mailing list